Lowndes County Mississippi Genealogy & History Network

James Newsome Roberts obituary - Lowndes County, Mississippi

(submitted by Gerald & Tammy Westmoreland)

7 Apr 1860 - 29 Jan 1953

Roberts Services are Held Today - Resident of Artesia Since 1883; Headed Bank for 35 years

Services for J. N. Roberts, Sr., who died yesterday (January 29, 1953) morning, were held this afternoon at the Methodist Church in Artesia, at 2, with the Rev. A. T. McIlwain of St. Louis, nephew, officiating. He was assisted by the Rev. J. N. Humphrey of Artesia, and the Reverend Mr. Pearson of Clarksdale. Gunter Funeral Home was in charge of arrangements.

Mr. Roberts, who was born April 7 1860, came to Artesia in 1883, and went in business with his brother, and later a son, the late John M. Roberts, retiring in 1942.

The son [of] Frank W.[B.] and Polly Miller Roberts, he was born in Choctaw Agency, Mississippi, and finished high school there. He entered A. & M. College in Starkville, in 1880, where he was one of the first students under the administration of Stephen D. Lee.

He was charter member of the Knights of Pythias, and a member of the Woodmen of the World. Mr. Roberts served as president of the Artesia State Bank for 35 years and was former superintendent of the Methodist Sunday School; of which he became a member in 1899.

In 1895, he married Susie Mitchell Roberts, by whom he is survived. In addition he leaves a son, James N. Roberts, Jr.,[FAG #47248356] of Columbus, and a daughter, Mrs. E. C. West (Blanche) of Columbus; two granddaughters; and four great randchildren.

Active pallbearers were W. L. Cook, Jr., J.E. McIlwain, Jr., Wilson Cox, Walker Guerry, Buck Foster, S. T. Pilkinton, Jr. Honorary were J. E. McIlwain, Sr., O. G. McIlwain, J. F. McIlwain, C. D. Pritchard, S. T. Pilkinton, Sr., H. C. Pilkinton, Tom Roberts, Frank Roberts, William Glenn Roberts, C. E. Hendley, G. G. Kitchens, W. L. Cook, Sr., Eugene Moorehead, Sam Hill, George Jones, Whitfield Butts, Harvey Cook, Robert Mitchell, Earl Gladney, James Andrews, T. Burgin, James Harpole, Fripp Boozer, Shields McIlwain, Mac D. McIlwain, J. V. Mitchell.

Serving on the flower committee were Mrs. H. C. Pilkinton, Jr., Miss Helen Evans, Mrs. Vivian Reig, Mrs. Nora Pilkinton, Mrs. W. L. Cook, Sr., Mrs. W. L. Cook, Jr., Mrs. Virginia Foster, Mrs. Sam Hill, Mrs. Oakley Sanders, Mrs. Harvey Cook, Mrs. John Bailey, Mrs. S. T. Pilkinton, Sr., Mrs. Earl Gladney, Mrs. Lacey Hamm, and Mrs. C. E. Hendley.

Back to Lowndes County Mississippi Biographies / Obituaries